North Georgia Counties Listed Alphabetically

Banks County

Banks County-Homer
Northeast Georgia county whose county seat is Homer.

Barrow County

Barrow County
One of Georgia's newest counties, taken from Jackson and Walton County in 1914

Bartow County

Bartow County-Cartersville
Renamed from the earlier Cass County because of political changes, Bartow was named for Frank Bartow (nobody called him Francis) following his death at Bull Run

Cass County

Cass County
Original name for Bartow County

Catoosa County

Catoosa County-Ringgold
Located In northwest Georgia, its county seat is Ringgold

Chattooga County

Chattooga County
Northwestern Georgia county, created from Floyd and Walker Counties in 1838

Cherokee County

Cherokee County-Canton, Freehome, Holly Springs, Woodstock
The original Cherokee County comprised the 7200 square miles of the Cherokee Nation in Georgia. In 1832 it was divided into 10 smaller counties. Canton (county seat), Woodstock, Freehome, Holly Springs

Cobb County

Cobb County-Acworth, Austell, Dallas, Hiram, Kennesaw, Mableton, Marietta, Powder Springs, Smyrna, Vinings
Northwest of Atlanta on I-75, its county seat is Marietta. One of ten original counties created from the Cherokee Nation after the 1832 Land Lottery

Dade County

Dade County

Dawson County

Dawson County-Dawsonville
North-central county whose county seat is Dawsonville

DeKalb County

DeKalb County-Brookhaven, Clarkston, Decatur, Dunwoody, Doraville, Lithonia, Tucker, Stone Mountain,
County east of Atlanta with the cities of Decatur (county seat), Stone Mountain, Tucker and Lithonia

Fannin County

Fannin County-Blue Ridge
North-central county whose county seat is Blue Ridge

Floyd County

Floyd County-Rome
North-central county whose county seat is Rome

Forsyth County

Forsyth County-Cumming
At the start of the Old Federal Highway, Forsyth County was well known to settlers because of Vann's Tavern and Blackburn's, a small settlement on the Highway near the Etowah River.

Franklin County

Franklin County-Carnesville
Early Northeast Georgia County whose seat of government is Carnesville

Fulton County

Fulton County-Atlanta
Georgia's most populous county today was created in 1853

Gilmer County

Gilmer County

Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County-Buford, Dacula, Duluth, Grayson, Lilburn, Lawrenceville, Norcross, Snellville, Snellville, Stone Mountain, Sugar Hill, Suwanee
Named for Button Gwinnett, the southern end of the county was settled before 1800. The county was site of the missionary trial in 1833 and raked by Sherman's "bummers" during the occupation of Atlanta. County seat is Lawrenceville.

Habersham County

Habersham County-Clarkesville
Northeast county whose county seat is Clarkesville

Hall County

Hall County-Gainesville, Flowery Branch, Lake Lanier
With Gainesville as its county seat, Lake Lanier as a main attraction, and I-85 carrying visitors to it, Hall County in a popular tourist destination and bedroom community to the Atlanta metro area

Lumpkin County

Lumpkin County-Dahlonega
North-central Georgia county at the center of the 1829 gold rush. Dahlonega, name of the county seat, is the Cherokee word for gold.

Murray County

Murray County-Chatsworth
Northern county whose seat of government is Chatsworth, at one time Murray contained all or part of Whitfield County, Catoosa County, Walker County and Dade County

Paulding County

Paulding County

Pickens County

Pickens County-Jasper
Known as the "Marble Capitol of the World," Pickens mining operations drew most of its early population in the eastern half of the county. Agriculture was important to the west.

Rabun County

Rabun County-Clayton
In the northeast corner of Georgia, this county joined Georgia in 1818. County seat is Clayton.

Towns County

Towns County-Hiawassee, Lake Chatuge
Northeast Georgia county that's home to Brasstown Bald, the Georgia Mountain Fair and Lake Chatuge. Hiawassee is the county seat.

Union County

Union County-Blairsville
Union County seems as if it was carved Georgia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Its county seat, Blairsville, is literally surrounded by mountains

Walker County

Walker County

White County

White County-Cleveland, Helen
From the Appalachian Trail to Helen and Cleveland (county seat), White County is a popular destination for visitors to North Georgia.

Whitfield County


 Home | Contact | Internet Advertising Rates | About Us | North Georgia Cities | Slide Show | Testimonials